The 1st Nationally Accredited Law Enforcement Agency in Kansas

The Riley County Police Department strives daily to meet the state-of-the-art standards outlined by the Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies (CALEA). The voluntary process to maintain accreditation is a highly-prized recognition of law enforcement professional excellence. The Department earned its initial accreditation from CALEA in 1991becoming the 1st Nationally Accredited Law Enforcement Agency in Kansas and the 168th agency in the United States. The Department has maintained its accredited status during on-site assessments conducted in 1996, 2001, 2004, 2006, 2009, 2012, 2016, and again in 2020.

The following awards have been attained by the Riley County Police Department:

  • 2007 Reaccreditation / Meritorious Service
  • 2010 Reaccreditation / Meritorious Service & Flagship Agency
  • 2013 Reaccreditation / Meritorious Service & Accreditation With Excellence (This is the highest award attainable by CALEA)
  • 2016 Advanced Reaccreditation via Gold Standard Assessment / Meritorious Service & Accreditation with Excellence; and
  • 2020 Advanced Reaccreditation / Meritorious Service.

There are different levels of accreditation attainable. The Riley County Police Department elects to strive for Advanced Law Enforcement Accreditation, which means complying with all 481 national accreditation standards that are applicable to our agency

There are five phases in the accreditation process: enrollment, self-assessment, assessment, commission review and decision, and maintaining compliance and reaccreditation. The process of CALEA Accreditation begins with a rigorous self-assessment, requiring a review of department policies, practices and processes against internationally accepted public safety standards. This is followed with an assessment by independent assessors from non-Kansas affiliated entities with significant public safety experience. Additionally, public feedback is solicited to promote community trust and engagement. 

The 2020 on-site assessment took place December 9, 2019 through December 12, 2019. During the assessment structured interviews were conducted involving 46 community members regarding topics such as the department’s community involvement in the Crisis Co-Responder program. In addition, community meetings were held in the cities of Randolph, Riley, Leonardville, Ogden, and Manhattan for citizens to provide written or in person comments about the Riley County Police Department’s ability to remain compliant with accreditation standards. The Assessment Team submitted the Final Assessment Report to CALEA and the Riley County Police Department earned its Re-Accreditation on March 21, 2020.

To learn more about the process of accreditation and our progress, please feel free to contact the Riley County Police Department's Accreditation Manager or the Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies (CALEA) at


Julia Goggins
Accreditation Manager
(785) 537-2112 x2398